Checkmate

I thought I was the chess master
The queen and not the pawn
But now I can see so clearly
That I was incredibly wrong.

I seemed so far ahead
Hidden securely behind my walls
But you saw my vulnerability
And now you’re making all the calls

How could this happen to me?
I thought I was in control
Keeping you in check
While guarding my delicate soul

But now I’ve come to discover
That I swallowed my own bait
And with no recourse in sight
I’ve lost to you, checkmate.

Photo Credit
https://www.google.com/search?q=checkmate&rlz=1C9BKJA_enUS629US629&hl=en-US&prmd=imnv&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwi7lZem04nVAhWK24MKHVgIDQkQ_AUICSgB&biw=1024&bih=653#imgrc=YzOmi57mwXObLM:

Leave a Reply

