The Crow

Upon my shoulder sat a crow
That perched there so long ago
Ugly and black, it haunted me
With unkind words, it taunted me
Bearing down with its great weight
To restrain me was its one mandate

But in one breath’s span, something changed
God stepped in and rearranged
In one swift move, it took to flight
Fleeing the brilliance of God’s great light
Now in its place, something new I find
A bird of quite a different kind

Upon my shoulder sits a dove
Sent from my Father up above
With beauty and wisdom I find it soothes me
With whispers of love I find it moves me
Forward in the path I am to take
As I live each day for my Savior’s sake

Leave a Reply

