I Mourn The Death


I once read that when a lifelong dream fails one must go through the grieving process as when a loved one dies. A year ago, I would never have imagined this to be the case but from personal experience I can tell you that this is very true. I have peace about letting go of my dream but the events surrounding that decision still cause a lot of pain and stress some days. I know that it will continue to get better and one day I will see how this has made me a much stronger person but for now, I will write my way through it.

I Mourn the Death
I don’t mourn the dream
I mourn the death
I mourn the slow decay, the stench of ignorance

I don’t mourn the leaving
I mourn the departure
I mourn the heavy steps, full of shame and defeat

I don’t mourn the moving on
I mourn the leaving behind
I mourn the probing questions, the expectations unfulfilled

I don’t mourn the dream
I mourn the death

Leave a Reply

